Big Tings a Gwan

There are a couple of exciting developments here in Portland I wanted to take a minute to share. The first is Coast2C‘s new radio program. When I first saw her play at S1 with Daniela Karina a couple of months ago, I was refreshed to hear a house mix that didn’t include the seemingly obligatory detours into trap and ratchet I’m so used to putting up with, even from performers I respect at places I like to go.

I was then thrilled to discover she’s a staple at the First Saturdays at High Dive that the organizer behind the now-defunct Discos Discos nights has been putting on at High Dive.

First Saturdays at High Dive are not to be missed if you like Cumbia, Reggaeton, House, and more…

Now you can actually catch her on KBOO FM Tuesday nights starting at midnight. Here’s a recent recording from that. Not many DJ’s here in Portland are playing sets this interesting:

The other thing I’m losing my shit about is that NAAFI is bringing members of their Mexico City collective to Portland on September 18 as part of the unstoppable Club Chemtrail series at Holocene!!!

Followers of my SoundCloud may remember when I began repping tracks by Zutzut during my time in the Dominican Republic. Turns out he’s part of NAAFI, and even though he’s not coming, I couldn’t be more stoked.

Leave a Reply

