Amens I Have Known: Part 1

It was 2001. I was in high school and had exhausted every resource I knew that would supply me with amen breaks. I may not even have had the vocabulary for them yet, but I knew they were my drug of choice.

To give some context, here is the unedited break section from the original 45 the amen break comes from, released in 1969.

The Winstons – Amen Brother (the break starts at 1:26 and goes until 1:33)

Anyways, the channels I knew for expanding my amen palette had dried up after I had collected every Squarepusher release I could get my hands on (no fewer than 9 CD’s if you don’t count his Pre-Squarepusher release as Chaos A.D.) at Ozone Records and Music Millenium, along with Luke Vibert’s Plug material.

Squarepusher – Full Rinse



So, when a chance encounter with a copy of kid606’s Down with the Scene at Every Day Music on Sandy exposed me to tracks like “kidrush” and “Luke Vibert Can Kiss My Indie-Punk Whiteboy Ass” it pretty much blew the top off my dome piece.

Hrvatski – Our Turn

Leave a Reply

